PMS Got You Down? CBD PMS Stick Will Get You Right Back Up.

Farva Jafri
3 min readJul 7, 2021

--

Like many women, I’ve struggled with abdominal pain andcramping every time Mother Nature makes her monthly check-in. And like many women, I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), making my time of the month often feel debilitating and miserable. And also like many women, I’ve searched for what feels like infinite solutions to this monthly week of anything-but-fun changes to my body.

Midol, hot water bottles and heating pads all offer relief but have their constraints. I personally do not like taking medicine unless it’s absolutely necessary. I’m always concerned with what chemicals are in the perfectly white little pills manufactured in a lab by large pharmaceutical companies. Growing up, there were also whispers among my girlfriends of the harmful impacts of long-term Midol use. This little pill then became impossible for me to use after I had liver issues resulting from a brief attempt at trying Accutane. So, I resorted to heating compresses — hot water bottles and electric heating pads. Although they work and are surely warm and cozy ways to address PMS pain, they leave you immobile and limit your abilities to keep the pace of your daily grind. In the winter, it’s not so bad because you can stay in and watch Netflix, but who wants to apply heat to your belly in the summer after a grueling day of period pain, a miserable commute and humidity (if you live in NYC like me — that subway smog is really something special). It’s also a depressing and demotivating feeling to be laid out just waiting for the heat to penetrate your abdomen and not feel like a scorned alien is trying to escape through your navel. Then there is also the fun chance of burning yourself, which I was unfortunate enough to experience a few times.

Upon embarking on my journey to try CBD products, I discovered this topical PMS Pain Relief Pocket Stick from Blondie’s Bombs; which, for the risk-averse is an amazing option for menstrual (and endometriosis) relief, containing 150 mg of pure Hemp CBD.

The subtle minty scent mixed with essential oils and menthol crystals makes the fragrance of this product super soothing. The balm itself is smooth and absorbs quickly but if you rub it too roughly against your skin, you’ll have little pieces break off. I like to slowly glide the stick directly across my lower abdomen with a medium amount of force for about 5 minutes, before massaging the substance onto the rest of my stomach. I’ve even tried the pocket stick on other areas of my body where I feel pain and it works just as well. It’s more than just a menstrual pain stick, I’ve used it on sore calves after a long rigorous hike.

What is so wonderful about the packaging of this product is that it fits in your pocket. It’s a compact, travel-sized stick that you can take with you to work, on vacation, even on a date. You don’t have to feel lethargic and count down the days until your cramps are over. You can use this balm and take control of your period, reducing the pain and feeling empowered.

--

--

Farva Jafri

I’m not here to save the world, but while I’m here, I might as well say something interesting.